College of Arts & Sciences Fairfield University

Faculty Meeting Friday, 25 October 2013 Alumni House 3:30 p.m.

<u>Agenda</u>

- I. Approval of minutes
- II. Introductions of new CAS faculty
- III. Elections (see calls for nominations, below)
 - Arts & Science Planning Committee Member (1) *Natural Sciences & Mathematics
 - 2. Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee Member (1) *Natural Sciences & Mathematics
 - At-Large Merit Committee Members (4)
 *2 Humanities

 - *1 Natural Sciences & Mathematics
 - *1 Behavioral & Social Sciences
- IV. Deans' Remarks
- V. Adjournment, followed by CAS faculty reception

A&S Planning Committee

Ex officio: Robbin Crabtree, Dean Sally O'Driscoll, Chair of CAS (2012-2014, second term) Scott Lacy, Secretary of CAS (2013-2015, second term)

Elected: Bob Epstein, Humanities (2012-14) Dave Crawford, Behavioral & Social Sciences (2012-14) Marty Lomonaco, Interdisciplinary Programs (2013-15) Vin Rosivach, At-large (2013-15) Open Position, Natural Sciences & Mathematics (2013-15)

CALLS FOR NOMINATIONS!!!

At the October 25th meeting of the College of Arts & Sciences faculty, we will conduct elections for the three positions listed below. Faculty members who are interested in these positions, and those wishing to nominate colleagues: please contact CAS Secretary Scott Lacy (slacy@fairfield.edu) or CAS Chair Sally O'Driscoll (sodriscoll@fairfield.edu).

- 1. Arts & Science Planning Committee Member Natural Sciences & Mathematics One ASPC committee member from Natural Sciences & Mathematics *Assistant, Associate, or Full Professors
- 2. Distinguished Teaching Award Selection Committee One Selection Committee member from Natural Sciences & Mathematics.
- 3. At-Large Merit Review Committee Members (4) Two committee members from the Humanities One committee member from Natural Sciences & Mathematics One committee member from Behavioral & Social Sciences

DEPT. REPRESENTATIVES - MERIT REVIEW COMMITTEES

Prior to the October 24th CAS meeting, each Department Chair must submit to the Dean, one name for both...

A) Name of one department faculty member who will serve as department rep. on the Merit Review Committee, 2-yr term

-AND-

B) Name of one department faculty as a nominee for an at-large position on the Merit Review Committee for the Division.

See chart on next page...

MERIT REVIEW COMMITTEE ROSTERS

BLANK SLOTS DENOTE OPEN POSITION (ELECTIONS ON OCTOBER 25)

	2011-12 & 2012-13	2012-13 & 2013-14	2013-14 & 2014-15
HUMANITIES (15 total, 3 at-large)			
English	Garvey	Pearson	
History	Li	Abbott	
Modern Languages	Johnson	Xiao	
Philosophy	DeWitt	Drake	
Religious Studies	Humphrey	Lakeland	
Visual & Performing Arts	Mayzik	Nash	
At-large (2 elected, odd years)	Bowen		
	Chamlin		
At-large (1 elected, even years)		Theil	
NATURAL SCIENCES & MATHEMATICS (9 total, Biology	Sauer	Klug	
Chemistry & BC	Steffen	Weddle	
Mathematics & CS	Mulvey	Rafalski	
	Mulvey Xu	Rafalski Winn	
Physics			
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years)	Xu McSweeney		
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years)	Xu McSweeney		
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years) SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES (12 total, 2-4	Xu McSweeney at-large)	Winn	
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years) SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES (12 total, 2- Communication	Xu McSweeney at-large) Ryan	Pagano	
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years) SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES (12 total, 2- Communication Economics	Xu McSweeney at-large) Ryan LeClair	Winn Pagano Lane	
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years) SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES (12 total, 2- Communication Economics Politics	At-large) Ryan LeClair Downie	Winn Pagano Lane Leatherman	
Physics At-large (1 elected, odd years) SOCIAL & BEHAVIORAL SCIENCES (12 total, 2- Communication Economics Politics Psychology	At-large)	Winn Pagano Lane Leatherman Primavera	